Style Statement: Crazy for Kimono

Some see the kimono as glamorous or a piece of history, but I’m going to use it as a way to stand out and make a fashion/style statement! And so can you!

It’s effortlessly chic! Splurge a lil or a LOT as you will have the kimono as a useful piece in your wardrobe literally FOREVER, you can dress it up, dress it down, wear it in (your home as a glam robe) or wear it out!

I feel every fashionista should have one in their collection, there’s many ways to style it in order to get wear out of it year round and it may still be trendy but don’t worry you can wear it forever like I said! It will always have a sense of glamour.

Not sure where to get a Japanese kimono in your city? Endless options online or I suggest hitting up your local vintage stores as they usually have at least a few kicking around.

I got mine in China Town, Vancouver BC. My criteria in searching for it was I didn’t want a full length kimono, I have a price range and I wanted a colour flattering for me with a traditional Japanese print. So let me show you what kimono robe I purchased and how I styled it! (How Rihanna wore the kimono too)

dsc_0133dsc_0098dsc_0125dsc_0164dsc_0153dsc_0146dsc_0108dsc_0089

So what I’m wearing! As soon as I got the kimono home I was thinking all white outfit underneath or all black to dress it up, and keep the attention on its beauty, femininity, and silky shine. The only colour I added was some pink jewellery a chunky rose quartz bracelet (seen above) a hot colour right now! With some more pink on my lips and on my coral ring.

The rest I kept white. My white lace trim camisole, white leggings, white pony tail, white pumps. I havent seen anyone style their kimono like this, would love to know what you think of my styling! Chic? Also went for a Japanese feel with my hair ornament.

Royal blue Kimono robe (local find $25!!!)
White lace trim cami (Hudsons Bay)
White capri length legging (unknown)
White lazer cut pumps (Yoki Shoes)
Black Studded flats (unknown)

Keep scrolling to see how Rihanna wore her kimono styled for an evening look!

dsc_0159rihanna

Rihanna image from http://www.vogue.com

img_6969

 

 

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Style Statement: Crazy for Kimono

Leave a Reply

